Clinical learning units

Clinical learning units are regional multidisciplinary teams that bring together:

  • Patients;
  • Doctors;
  • Health professionals;
  • Clinical activity managers;
  • Decision-makers;
  • Researchers.

Clinical learning units:

  • Innovate;
  • Establish best clinical practices;
  • Promote a culture of measurement and continuous improvement;
  • Help train the next generation.

Each clinical learning unit focuses on a health theme. It concentrates on the gaps and problems in clinical care and takes into account the needs of patients, professionals and decision-makers.

We expect to establish clinical learning units in the fields below. The first ones should be created in 2019.

  1. Respiratory health
  2. Cardiovascular health
  3. Cancer
  4. Child health
  5. Obesity, metabolic health and diabetes
  6. Kidney health
  7. Seniors’ health
  8. Infection, immunity, inflammation and pain
  9. Neurological health
  10. Mental health and addiction services
  11. Population health and health promotion
  12. Preventive and precision medicine
  13. Heavy service users

The clinical learning units will have a social responsibility toward the patients and population they care for. Patients’ opinions will be sought when setting the objectives for the units to ensure that patients are at the heart of all activities.